Skip to Main Content

Math

Find Reference Articles

Encyclopedia Britannica Mathematics Articles
Large variety of articles on current and historical topics in mathematics.

Math Makers : The Lives and Works of 50 Famous Mathematicians by Alfred S. Posamentier; Christian Spreitzer
Call Number: Online Resource

ISBN: 9781633885202

Publication Date: 2020-02-01

Chronicles the achievements of history's greatest mathematicians through fifty short biographies that bring these great thinkers to life while making their contributions understandable to readers with little math background.
A History of Mathematics by Carl B. Boyer; Uta C. Merzbach
Call Number: Online Resource

ISBN: 9780470525487

Publication Date: 2011-01-11

Distills thousands of years of mathematics into a single, approachable volume. Covers mathematical discoveries, concepts, and thinkers, from Ancient Egypt to the present. Includes up-to-date references and an extensive chronological table of mathematical and general historical developments.

Science Reference Center
Collection of reference books and encyclopedias on mathematics and math history.
Encyclopedia of Math
Free online Math Encyclopedia published by Kluwer Academic Publishers and Springer.

Modern World History
History collection of ebooks and articles covering the mid-15th century to the present.
Ancient and Medieval History
History collection of ebooks and articles covering ancient and medieval history up to the 15th century.
Today's Science
Science collection of articles on current events and issues in science. A great resource for topic identification and narrowing.

Find Books and Articles

The Handy Math Answer Book by Patricia Barnes-Svarney; Thomas E. Svarney
ISBN: 1578591716

Publication Date: 2005-09-01

Book on many topics in mathematics and society.
Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society by Sarah J. Greenwald; Jill E. Thomley; Salem Press Editors
Call Number: REF 303.48 GRE

ISBN: 1587658445

Publication Date: 2011-10-01

Encyclopedia covering topics in math and society.

OneSearch
Search books and articles across PTCC's databases and catalog.

A-Z List of Databases

A-Z Database List
Not finding what you need? PTCC has access to 50+ databases in a wide variety of subject areas. Use this list to browse databases alphabetically, by subject, or by resource type.

Last Updated: Oct 3, 2025 11:00 AM
URL: https://pine.libguides.com/math
Print Page

Subjects: Math

Tags: Algebra, Calculus, Math, Math History, Mathematicians, Mathematics